TOUR STOP 22: Gilbert Carriage Works - 129 Main St.

Gilbert Carriage Works

The opening of the Rideau Canal spurred development in the communities along its route. For canal steamboats, Haskins Point was a convenient stopping place right on the main channel; fuel wood was loaded from the wharf and barges were moored and loaded in the adjacent bay. Access to the Point was over a rough track that joined the main Kingston Road on property that had been purchased by William Gilbert in 1829.

Although Gilbert’s occupation appears to have been farming, carpentry and joinery were a tradition in the family, one that was followed by two of William’s sons, Edward and John. By 1880 several men in the Gilbert family were working as carriage makers; work was carried out in a blacksmith shop where Thompson Electric is now situated while carriages and wagons were assembled and painted in the adjacent two-story building.

By 1905 the business, operated by Harrison and George Gilbert, was sold to Ephraim Bracken and continued to produce farm wagons as part of the Seeley’s Bay Supply and Construction Company until the beginning of World War I. Chester Caird carried on business in the blacksmith shop until his death when it was sold to Martin Perry who did automobile repairs. The assembly shop continued to be used for carpentry work including the construction caskets for the local undertaker. The upper floor was rented to the Oddfellows Lodge and later to the Eastern Star Lodge. The lower floor was converted to a residence that later purchased and occupied by Martin Perry and is now owned by Donny Gray.

Seeley's Bay Heritage Walking Tour - 130 Mill Street
  1. TOUR STOP 2: Seeley's Bay Wharf and the Rideau Queen - 130 Mill St.
  2. TOUR STOP 3: Seeley's Bay Saw Mill (Hartley's) - 136 Mill St.
  3. TOUR STOP 4: The Plane Crash - 130 Mill St.
  4. TOUR STOP 5: Horse Racing and Ice Cutting on the Bay
  5. TOUR STOP 6: The Dr. Christie House - 148 Mill St.
  6. TOUR STOP 7: The National Hotel - 160 Main St.
  7. TOUR STOP 8: The Brown House- Bootlegger - 179 Main St.
  8. TOUR STOP 9: Home of John Bracken - 172 Main St.
  9. TOUR STOP 10: The Hotchkiss House Murder - 196 Main St.
  10. TOUR STOP 11: Coleman's Hotel - 152 Main St.
  11. TOUR STOP 12: Dr. Gardiner House- presently Ridgway Confections - 159 Main St.
  12. TOUR STOP 13: The Bank - 148 Main St.
  13. TOUR STOP 14: Stage Coach Depot/ George Cheetham's Blacksmith Shop - 103 Bracken St.
  14. TOUR STOP 15: Kelly’s Fresh Mart formerly Sweets - 144 Main St.
  15. TOUR STOP 16: St. Peter's Anglican Church - 155 Main St.
  16. TOUR STOP 17: Dr. Bowen's House -145 Main Street
  17. TOUR STOP 18: Seeley's Bay Masonic Hall - 108 Adelaide St.
  18. TOUR STOP 19: Seeley's Bay United Church - 129 Hellen St.
  19. TOUR STOP 20 - A. Neal and Son, Brick and Tile Co. Circa 1900 - 109 Hellen St.
  20. TOUR STOP 21: A.J. Sly's Furniture and Undertaking - 140 Main St.
  21. TOUR STOP 22: Gilbert Carriage Works - 129 Main St.
  22. TOUR STOP 23: Gilt Edge Cheese Factory - 118 Main St.
  23. TOUR STOP 24: Sunny Acres- The Ashery - 119 Haskins Point Rd.
  24. TOUR STOP 25: Haskins Point - 148 Haskins Point Rd.