TOUR STOP 15: Kelly’s Fresh Mart formerly Sweets - 144 Main St.

Kelly’s Fresh Mart (formerly Sweets)

This building was erected for George Cheetham about 1895 and was owned for a time by Samuel Gorsline, a tailor. With the establishment of mail-order catalogues such as Eaton’s and Simpson’s, the local clothing makers could not compete with the cheaper clothing these companies could offer.

In 1902 the building was purchased by Edwin Putnam who made part of the ground floor into a grocery store and bakery. In the early 1930’s he and his wife, the former Bertha Sweet, turned part of the lower level into an ice cream parlour. Ray and Zella Sweet purchased the business in 1938 and continued with the grocery store and ice cream parlour. There was an ice house behind the store and every day ice cream was made. A fire in 1939 destroyed the store and several other buildings in the immediate area.

They rebuilt the store and developed a grocery business. They also added a Locker Plant where those in the village who did not have a freezer at home could rent space to keep their frozen items such as meat and fish. Ray and Zella and two of their children, Joan and Betty, lived in a tent in the back yard while the store was being rebuilt. Their son and daughter-in-law, Ralph and Helen, bought the business in 1946 and the store grew and expanded with more floor space, and when their daughter, Peggy, took over running the business there was a further expansion.

It was sold out of the Sweet family in 2005 and continues to be a busy and well run operation. This is the longest continuously operating business in the village.

Seeley's Bay Heritage Walking Tour - 130 Mill Street
  1. TOUR STOP 2: Seeley's Bay Wharf and the Rideau Queen - 130 Mill St.
  2. TOUR STOP 3: Seeley's Bay Saw Mill (Hartley's) - 136 Mill St.
  3. TOUR STOP 4: The Plane Crash - 130 Mill St.
  4. TOUR STOP 5: Horse Racing and Ice Cutting on the Bay
  5. TOUR STOP 6: The Dr. Christie House - 148 Mill St.
  6. TOUR STOP 7: The National Hotel - 160 Main St.
  7. TOUR STOP 8: The Brown House- Bootlegger - 179 Main St.
  8. TOUR STOP 9: Home of John Bracken - 172 Main St.
  9. TOUR STOP 10: The Hotchkiss House Murder - 196 Main St.
  10. TOUR STOP 11: Coleman's Hotel - 152 Main St.
  11. TOUR STOP 12: Dr. Gardiner House- presently Ridgway Confections - 159 Main St.
  12. TOUR STOP 13: The Bank - 148 Main St.
  13. TOUR STOP 14: Stage Coach Depot/ George Cheetham's Blacksmith Shop - 103 Bracken St.
  14. TOUR STOP 15: Kelly’s Fresh Mart formerly Sweets - 144 Main St.
  15. TOUR STOP 16: St. Peter's Anglican Church - 155 Main St.
  16. TOUR STOP 17: Dr. Bowen's House -145 Main Street
  17. TOUR STOP 18: Seeley's Bay Masonic Hall - 108 Adelaide St.
  18. TOUR STOP 19: Seeley's Bay United Church - 129 Hellen St.
  19. TOUR STOP 20 - A. Neal and Son, Brick and Tile Co. Circa 1900 - 109 Hellen St.
  20. TOUR STOP 21: A.J. Sly's Furniture and Undertaking - 140 Main St.
  21. TOUR STOP 22: Gilbert Carriage Works - 129 Main St.
  22. TOUR STOP 23: Gilt Edge Cheese Factory - 118 Main St.
  23. TOUR STOP 24: Sunny Acres- The Ashery - 119 Haskins Point Rd.
  24. TOUR STOP 25: Haskins Point - 148 Haskins Point Rd.