TOUR STOP 16: St. Peter's Anglican Church - 155 Main St.

St Peter’s Anglican Church

At the middle of the nineteenth century a majority of the population of the Rear of Leeds Township professed membership in the Church of England; St. John’s, Leeds, the first Anglican church in the area was built in 1848 and drew its congregation from Jones Falls, Seeley's Bay and South Lake.

As a result of the religious revival of the 1860s that saw the Methodists build a church south of the village, the Anglicans in the Seeley’s Bay area convinced the diocese to  purchase a half acre lot where Hillside Circle is now located.  Plans for a church were proposed but support for the project waned and no church was built. In 1876 when Rev. Abel Coleman was rector, the diocese purchased a village lot on Mill St. where a small frame building was erected with services beginning in 1878 but support from the congregants was not sufficient to maintain the building and no services were held after 1883.

In 1889, under the rectorship of the Rev. Croly, the present church was built. There was considerable controversy over the location as at the time the lot chosen was low and swampy. The construction went ahead and on August 12, 1899 it opened its doors to worship. Although the predominating style is Romanesque Revival, the arched windows add a Gothic touch.  In the 1920's, it was necessary to add buttresses to counteract shifting in the foundation, probably due to the condition of the land underneath that had caused such controversy when it was built.

Seeley's Bay Heritage Walking Tour - 130 Mill Street
  1. TOUR STOP 2: Seeley's Bay Wharf and the Rideau Queen - 130 Mill St.
  2. TOUR STOP 3: Seeley's Bay Saw Mill (Hartley's) - 136 Mill St.
  3. TOUR STOP 4: The Plane Crash - 130 Mill St.
  4. TOUR STOP 5: Horse Racing and Ice Cutting on the Bay
  5. TOUR STOP 6: The Dr. Christie House - 148 Mill St.
  6. TOUR STOP 7: The National Hotel - 160 Main St.
  7. TOUR STOP 8: The Brown House- Bootlegger - 179 Main St.
  8. TOUR STOP 9: Home of John Bracken - 172 Main St.
  9. TOUR STOP 10: The Hotchkiss House Murder - 196 Main St.
  10. TOUR STOP 11: Coleman's Hotel - 152 Main St.
  11. TOUR STOP 12: Dr. Gardiner House- presently Ridgway Confections - 159 Main St.
  12. TOUR STOP 13: The Bank - 148 Main St.
  13. TOUR STOP 14: Stage Coach Depot/ George Cheetham's Blacksmith Shop - 103 Bracken St.
  14. TOUR STOP 15: Kelly’s Fresh Mart formerly Sweets - 144 Main St.
  15. TOUR STOP 16: St. Peter's Anglican Church - 155 Main St.
  16. TOUR STOP 17: Dr. Bowen's House -145 Main Street
  17. TOUR STOP 18: Seeley's Bay Masonic Hall - 108 Adelaide St.
  18. TOUR STOP 19: Seeley's Bay United Church - 129 Hellen St.
  19. TOUR STOP 20 - A. Neal and Son, Brick and Tile Co. Circa 1900 - 109 Hellen St.
  20. TOUR STOP 21: A.J. Sly's Furniture and Undertaking - 140 Main St.
  21. TOUR STOP 22: Gilbert Carriage Works - 129 Main St.
  22. TOUR STOP 23: Gilt Edge Cheese Factory - 118 Main St.
  23. TOUR STOP 24: Sunny Acres- The Ashery - 119 Haskins Point Rd.
  24. TOUR STOP 25: Haskins Point - 148 Haskins Point Rd.