TOUR STOP 19: Seeley's Bay United Church - 129 Hellen St.


The Seeley's Bay Methodist Church dates from 1877 although it was officially opened in January 1878. Typical of Methodist churches in southern Ontario it was built on a side street.  Methodists needed to be humble so they avoided the main street. Methodists were in the vanguard of the Temperance Movement. They were somewhat successful in the Rear of Leeds and Lansdowne which was a dry township. Only the Legion had a license to serve alcoholic beverages. Many of the Methodists took the “pledge” vowing to never drink. In 1925 the Methodists joined with the Congregationalists and two-thirds of the Presbyterians to form the United Church of Canada. The United Church was and is a liberal Protestant denomination but old beliefs and habits die hard.

In the 1960s and 1970s a Literary group was formed: mostly very senior ladies of the Methodist heritage. The members got together to read “inspirational” books which they did from fall until spring. They would go out to supper at a resort hotel like the Opinicon or Kenney’s in the late spring. One year they asked the Legion Auxiliary to serve their season ending supper. The Literary ladies went to the Legion for supper.

Everything went well until dessert was served. Dessert was Crème de Menthe Parfait with a whole lot of Crème de Menthe and not much ice cream. One Literary Lady liked dessert and had seconds until she felt light-headed.  Another lady commented that dessert was too minty.

My guess is that a couple of the ladies came from homes that had booze. They would recognize that the Legion Auxiliary women would not know that serving booze to the Literary was a no-no. But nobody said anything. Most of the Literary ladies had no idea they had inadvertently broken their “pledge”.

Seeley's Bay Heritage Walking Tour - 130 Mill Street
  1. TOUR STOP 2: Seeley's Bay Wharf and the Rideau Queen - 130 Mill St.
  2. TOUR STOP 3: Seeley's Bay Saw Mill (Hartley's) - 136 Mill St.
  3. TOUR STOP 4: The Plane Crash - 130 Mill St.
  4. TOUR STOP 5: Horse Racing and Ice Cutting on the Bay
  5. TOUR STOP 6: The Dr. Christie House - 148 Mill St.
  6. TOUR STOP 7: The National Hotel - 160 Main St.
  7. TOUR STOP 8: The Brown House- Bootlegger - 179 Main St.
  8. TOUR STOP 9: Home of John Bracken - 172 Main St.
  9. TOUR STOP 10: The Hotchkiss House Murder - 196 Main St.
  10. TOUR STOP 11: Coleman's Hotel - 152 Main St.
  11. TOUR STOP 12: Dr. Gardiner House- presently Ridgway Confections - 159 Main St.
  12. TOUR STOP 13: The Bank - 148 Main St.
  13. TOUR STOP 14: Stage Coach Depot/ George Cheetham's Blacksmith Shop - 103 Bracken St.
  14. TOUR STOP 15: Kelly’s Fresh Mart formerly Sweets - 144 Main St.
  15. TOUR STOP 16: St. Peter's Anglican Church - 155 Main St.
  16. TOUR STOP 17: Dr. Bowen's House -145 Main Street
  17. TOUR STOP 18: Seeley's Bay Masonic Hall - 108 Adelaide St.
  18. TOUR STOP 19: Seeley's Bay United Church - 129 Hellen St.
  19. TOUR STOP 20 - A. Neal and Son, Brick and Tile Co. Circa 1900 - 109 Hellen St.
  20. TOUR STOP 21: A.J. Sly's Furniture and Undertaking - 140 Main St.
  21. TOUR STOP 22: Gilbert Carriage Works - 129 Main St.
  22. TOUR STOP 23: Gilt Edge Cheese Factory - 118 Main St.
  23. TOUR STOP 24: Sunny Acres- The Ashery - 119 Haskins Point Rd.
  24. TOUR STOP 25: Haskins Point - 148 Haskins Point Rd.