TOUR STOP 11: Coleman's Hotel - 152 Main St.

Coleman Hotel

Higginson McKinley opened a general store in this building in 1884 which was substantially enlarged to include a residence for his family; the business was later carried on by his son, Champion.  Just after the First World War, Ray Hartley ran the store for a few years until it was purchased in 1925 by Robert Coleman and his wife, the former Mildred McAlonan.  They went out of the grocery business and converted it into a tourist lodge catering to Americans who came here to fish. The store space was turned into a dining room for guest staying at the Hotel or renting cabins that they built on the property.  It was known as The Colman Hotel for many years.

Gerry and Hazel Downs purchased it in the early ‘50s it was known for a short time as The Rideau Lake Inn and boasted modern rooms, cabins, reasonable rates, a la carte restaurant, home cooking, good fishing, boats, motors and guides as its attractions.  They continued to cater to tourists and those who came to fish and also opened the dining room as a restaurant to the public.  It became known as Gerry’s Motel and Diner.

The business was later sold and the main building and some of the cabins were converted into apartments.

Seeley's Bay Heritage Walking Tour - 130 Mill Street
  1. TOUR STOP 2: Seeley's Bay Wharf and the Rideau Queen - 130 Mill St.
  2. TOUR STOP 3: Seeley's Bay Saw Mill (Hartley's) - 136 Mill St.
  3. TOUR STOP 4: The Plane Crash - 130 Mill St.
  4. TOUR STOP 5: Horse Racing and Ice Cutting on the Bay
  5. TOUR STOP 6: The Dr. Christie House - 148 Mill St.
  6. TOUR STOP 7: The National Hotel - 160 Main St.
  7. TOUR STOP 8: The Brown House- Bootlegger - 179 Main St.
  8. TOUR STOP 9: Home of John Bracken - 172 Main St.
  9. TOUR STOP 10: The Hotchkiss House Murder - 196 Main St.
  10. TOUR STOP 11: Coleman's Hotel - 152 Main St.
  11. TOUR STOP 12: Dr. Gardiner House- presently Ridgway Confections - 159 Main St.
  12. TOUR STOP 13: The Bank - 148 Main St.
  13. TOUR STOP 14: Stage Coach Depot/ George Cheetham's Blacksmith Shop - 103 Bracken St.
  14. TOUR STOP 15: Kelly’s Fresh Mart formerly Sweets - 144 Main St.
  15. TOUR STOP 16: St. Peter's Anglican Church - 155 Main St.
  16. TOUR STOP 17: Dr. Bowen's House -145 Main Street
  17. TOUR STOP 18: Seeley's Bay Masonic Hall - 108 Adelaide St.
  18. TOUR STOP 19: Seeley's Bay United Church - 129 Hellen St.
  19. TOUR STOP 20 - A. Neal and Son, Brick and Tile Co. Circa 1900 - 109 Hellen St.
  20. TOUR STOP 21: A.J. Sly's Furniture and Undertaking - 140 Main St.
  21. TOUR STOP 22: Gilbert Carriage Works - 129 Main St.
  22. TOUR STOP 23: Gilt Edge Cheese Factory - 118 Main St.
  23. TOUR STOP 24: Sunny Acres- The Ashery - 119 Haskins Point Rd.
  24. TOUR STOP 25: Haskins Point - 148 Haskins Point Rd.