TOUR STOP 18: Seeley's Bay Masonic Hall - 108 Adelaide St.

Seeley’s Bay Masons

The Select Knights, a fraternal insurance organization, built a two-storey hall on the northeast corner of Adelaide and Hellen Streets in Seeley’s Bay around 1890. By the turn of the century they were renting it to the Orange Lodge and to the Sons of Temperance because the local Select Knights Lodge had become dormant.
The first attempt to institute a Masonic Lodge at Seeley’s Bay was made by a few local Masons who petitioned the District of Frontenac for a dispensation to organize a lodge in the village. R.C. George was installed as Master of Rideau Lodge no. 460 on April 26, 1903. When he found it necessary to move away from Seeley’s Bay, there was no other Master or Past Master left in the lodge so this first dispensation was withdrawn.

However, on November 26 of the same year Robert J. Gardiner was installed as Master of Rideau Masonic Lodge. In Oct. of 1904 the lodge received its charter and by June of 1905 it reported 49 members. The lodge quickly moved to purchase the Select Knights Hall and furniture. By the early 1950s the membership peaked at 120.
In 1924 a continuation school offering grades nine and ten was opened in the downstairs portion of the Masonic Hall. This meant that area students would not have to go to Gananoque or Athens if they wanted an education beyond grade eight. The first teacher was Florence Barrington. Two years later a partition was made to create two classrooms and Ada Dempsey and Agnes Irwin were hired to teach grades nine through twelve. This continued until a new school was built at the east end of the village in 1930. After the school had moved out, the downstairs portion of this building was used as a community hall, that is, it was used for such things as entertainment nights with visiting music groups, concerts, film nights or any community event that required a stage or a room to gather in. In 1946 Rideau chapter no. 234, Order of the Eastern Star, a woman’s Masonic charitable sorority, was organized with 41 members. Even though the Mason's still has a presence in Seeley's Bay, the Order of the Eastern ,due to declining membership amalgomated with Leeds Chapter in Newboro in 2012.

Seeley's Bay Heritage Walking Tour - 130 Mill Street
  1. TOUR STOP 2: Seeley's Bay Wharf and the Rideau Queen - 130 Mill St.
  2. TOUR STOP 3: Seeley's Bay Saw Mill (Hartley's) - 136 Mill St.
  3. TOUR STOP 4: The Plane Crash - 130 Mill St.
  4. TOUR STOP 5: Horse Racing and Ice Cutting on the Bay
  5. TOUR STOP 6: The Dr. Christie House - 148 Mill St.
  6. TOUR STOP 7: The National Hotel - 160 Main St.
  7. TOUR STOP 8: The Brown House- Bootlegger - 179 Main St.
  8. TOUR STOP 9: Home of John Bracken - 172 Main St.
  9. TOUR STOP 10: The Hotchkiss House Murder - 196 Main St.
  10. TOUR STOP 11: Coleman's Hotel - 152 Main St.
  11. TOUR STOP 12: Dr. Gardiner House- presently Ridgway Confections - 159 Main St.
  12. TOUR STOP 13: The Bank - 148 Main St.
  13. TOUR STOP 14: Stage Coach Depot/ George Cheetham's Blacksmith Shop - 103 Bracken St.
  14. TOUR STOP 15: Kelly’s Fresh Mart formerly Sweets - 144 Main St.
  15. TOUR STOP 16: St. Peter's Anglican Church - 155 Main St.
  16. TOUR STOP 17: Dr. Bowen's House -145 Main Street
  17. TOUR STOP 18: Seeley's Bay Masonic Hall - 108 Adelaide St.
  18. TOUR STOP 19: Seeley's Bay United Church - 129 Hellen St.
  19. TOUR STOP 20 - A. Neal and Son, Brick and Tile Co. Circa 1900 - 109 Hellen St.
  20. TOUR STOP 21: A.J. Sly's Furniture and Undertaking - 140 Main St.
  21. TOUR STOP 22: Gilbert Carriage Works - 129 Main St.
  22. TOUR STOP 23: Gilt Edge Cheese Factory - 118 Main St.
  23. TOUR STOP 24: Sunny Acres- The Ashery - 119 Haskins Point Rd.
  24. TOUR STOP 25: Haskins Point - 148 Haskins Point Rd.