Img upper sanctum

Upper Sanctum

You have now arrived in the upper sanctum of the Mandir, and the heart of this entire complex. 

As you look around this milky white sanctuary of marble, covered with intricate carvings, you will find ornate shrines housing sacred images. These are the murtis, the very soul of the Mandir. 

The concept of image worship – known as murti puja – is a deep-seated Hindu practice prescribed by revealed scriptures to help devotees enhance and express their relationship with God. Ancient Vedic rites are performed to infuse the images with the presence of God, making them worthy of worship. God, who is present everywhere, manifests within the murti. Through the sacred image, we learn to not only see God but also be seen by him. 

Murti puja is thus an important way to offer our devotion to God, to utter heartfelt prayers to him, and be personally blessed. 

There is a general misunderstanding that Hindus worship many gods. For the Hindus there is one supreme God who has created and governs the Universe we inhabit. Hindus honour the whole of creation and see the presence of God in everything. God who is full of love and compassion reveals himself through various forms and can be known by many names. 

Take your time to absorb the atmosphere before making your way to the centre of the inner sanctum. 

While doing so, please be respectful of other worshippers in the area, especially by observing silence. 

When ready, please press next.

BAPS Shri Swaminarayan Mandir Neasden, London
  1. Information Desk
  2. Haveli Atrium
  3. Assembly Hall
  4. Portraits of Gurus
  5. Blue Carpet
  6. Photo Display 1
  7. Photo Display 2
  8. Abhishek Mandap
  9. Upper Sanctum
  10. In Front of Carved Pillars
  11. Central Dome
  12. Devotion
  13. Bhagwan Swaminarayan
  14. Gunatitanand Swami
  15. Gopalanand Swami
  16. Ghanshyam Maharaj
  17. Sukh Shayya
  18. Guru Parampara
  19. Harikrishna Maharaj & Radha-Krishna
  20. Bhagatji Maharaj
  21. Shastriji Maharaj
  22. Yogiji Maharaj
  23. Pramukh Swami Maharaj
  24. Shiva-Parvati
  25. Hanuman
  26. Ganesh
  27. Sita-Rama
  28. Ceiling
  29. Doors
  30. Porch
  31. Exhibition
  32. Messages From His Holiness Pramukh Swami Maharaj