The Floyd Norgaard Cultural Center, formerly known as the Stanwood Fraternal International Order of Odd Fellows Public Hall, is on the National Register of Historic Places. Built in 1902, it is located in the historic town center of Stanwood, a small community of rich Scandanavian heritage.
One hundred years later, the Stanwood Area Historical Society and the Norgaard family bought the hall and saved this historic landmark so it could continue to serve as a community center for music, theater, arts and other cultural and family events. The first floor is 2700 sq. ft. and the second floor, former lodge rooms, is now used as a museum and exhibit space. There is a new exhibit using artifacts and our clothing collection to tell the story of the Stanwood area starting in 1873 in Centreville and taking you around the room through Stanwood, East Stanwood and Camano Island up until the 1970s. In the center we have displays on the 1898 gold rush, logging, dairies, and the H and H railroad. We will also have a special display on life in the Norwegian community called “Pieces of Home.” There is a special “hands-on room” for children to learn about and use old artifacts and antiques.