This Victorian House belonged to D.O. Pearson, the first mayor of Stanwood. He arrived in the area when it was still called Centreville and built the town’s first general store in 1877. He built a wharf to make it possible for steamboats to dock along the Stilla-guamish River waterfront. Pearson became the sixth Postmaster in seven years, changing the town’s postal designation to a less commonly used name of Stanwood, the maiden name of his wife Clara.
The house was built in 1890. It was placed on the National and State Registers of Historic Places in 1973. It is a three-story Second Empire Victorian style which was unusual for the west coast. It has a typical mansard roof and an intricate diamond patterned shingle siding. The roof cresting, or widow’s walk, is reminiscent of seaside homes in New England. The Pearson House is maintained as a Period House Museum.